Dr. Oliwia Zakerska-Banaszak is employed at the Institute since beginning of 2015, but she is linked with it for more than 7 years before through a master thesis and participation in numerous projects. She gained research experience also during many foreign academic internships, for example in the Institute of Human Genetics in Leipzig, Institute of Cancer Research in Vienna and in the Max Delbrueck Center in Berlin. She was a scholarship holder of international PhD projects programme at the NanoBioMedical Centre at the Department of Physics of the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan. She finalized her PhD thesis entitled: „High throughput DNA sequencing as a new diagnostic platform for susceptibility analysis of patients to anaesthetics” with honors in the year 2015. As an employee of Function of Nucleic Acids Department at the Institute of Human Genetics Polish Academy of Sciences she carries out research in the field of pharmacogenetics using high-thoughput  sequencing technology. Since 2016 she is laboratory diagnostician and a member of Collegium of Laboratory Medicine in Poland.


Pharmacogenetics of cannabinoids.

Hryhorowicz S, Walczak M, Zakerska-Banaszak O, Słomski R, Skrzypczak-Zielińska M;

Eur J Drug Metab Pharmacokinet., 2018, 43 (1): 1-12, Epub 2017 May 22.


dr n. roln. Oliwia Zakerska-Banaszak
dr hab. n. med. i n. o zdr. Marzena Skrzypczak-Zielińska
prof. dr hab. n. med. Ryszard Słomski
Biocodex award
Given by: Biocodex

Award in the competition 'Microbiota in health and disease' for funding a research project entitled "Treatment of patients with irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) by means of intestinal microbiota transplantation - evaluation of the therapy and its effect on the change of the intestinal microbiome". Manager dr Marcin Gabryel.

Awarded: dr n. roln. Oliwia Zakerska-Banaszak
Given by: Provincial Labour Office in Poznań

“Scholarship support for PH.D. students specializing in majors strategic for Wielkopolska’s development”, Sub-measure 8.2.2 Human Capital Operational Programme, co-financed by European Union under the European Social Fund; 2013.